Yoodley is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Apple continues its work to bring more features to Apple Music. In iOS 17.2 Beta 1, developers can start testing the new Favorite Songs and Collaborative Playlist.

Apple has already made some improvements in Apple Music in iOS 17, including the addition of suggestions, album customization, and “Favorited” songs.

  • The Music app now shows the “Favorited” playlist in your library. It applies to songs, albums, and playlists. You can access this by tapping the menu option on the upper right section of the app and selecting Favorited. Songs also now show a new Favorite button with a new animation. The button is also interactive when you use it from the Music player on the Lock Screen.
  • Apple Music now offers selections of album artwork users can use to customize the looks of their playlists. You can access it by tapping the menu in the upper-right of the playlist and selecting “Edit.” You’ll have different artwork selections there, or use your own photo. There will also be additional automatically generated album options for some playlists.
  • The Music app now includes song suggestions at the bottom of the playlists through the new Favorited system. The suggestions show up to five items, and each one has an Add button.

Now, we get more improvements like these, starting with the Favorite Songs playlist in the Playlists section of the Apple Music app.

This new playlist makes sense since Apple introduced the favoriting system in iOS 17.1. However, in that update, accessing your favorite songs isn’t easy since you must first tap a three-dot menu to reveal your favorite songs, albums, or playlists. Now, with the Favorite Songs, you can instantly access your favorite songs in the Playlists section of the app.

On the other hand, Apple debuts the Collaborative Playlist in iOS 17.2 after promising to deliver it before 2023 ends. In a nutshell, the idea is to allow you to add (or remove) people in a group for the playlists you created. Anyone with the link can join the collaboration, although you can also choose to first “Approve Collaborations.” Once users are added, they can “edit and reorder songs, and your name and photo will be shown to others.” To access this, just tap the new icon next to the three-dot menu at the upper right part of the screen of the playlist. Tapping it will give you the button to “Start Collaboration.”

What do you think of these new Apple Music features? Let us know in the comment section!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here