How To Hide Facebook Groups From Your Timeline?

Yoodley is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How To Hide Facebook Groups From Your Timeline?

Sometimes Facebook can look like a very “open” platform that gives your friends and people around you to know your activities on Facebook such as what posts you like, what posts you comment on, what groups you are in, etc.

However, Facebook also gives you an option to select what your Timeline viewers will see when they go to your profile, be it your friends or people outside your circle.

If you wish to hide your Facebook Groups from your timeline, follow the step-by-step instructions follow:

  • Go to your Profile by tapping on your Profile icon from your News Feed.
  • Tap on More from under your profile.

  • Tap on Manage Sections.

 

  • Upon tapping on Manage Sections, you will see a number of options such as likes, comments, groups, etc, with checkboxes on the left of each option.

  • If Groups’ checkbox is ticked, tick it off as seen in the screenshot.

  • Next, hit on Save to save the changes. This will hide the Facebook Groups from your timeline.

How To Hide A Post On Facebook?

To hide a post on Facebook, follow the instructions below:

  • Tap on the three-dot button next to the post you want to hide.
  • Tap on Hide Post to hide the post.

 

  • Once you are done hiding the post, you should see something like this in place of the post that you just hid.

 

 

Can You Read Facebook Without Having An Account?

Yes, you can read Facebook without having an account, however, the functionalities and what you can view are limited.

Let us understand in detail how the visibility and information viewing work on Facebook?

Profile Visibility

In order to see basic information about a person’s Facebook profile, all you need is a Facebook account, which you can get for free by signing up. Even if you have an account, you may not be able to find this much information if you don’t. Individual users’ privacy preferences determine how much of this information is made public. You’ll be able to see a subset of a user’s profile if he or she chooses to let search engines access to it. A direct connection to the user’s profile will not work if the person decides to disable this feature.

Profile Privacy Variations

Only the most basic details are shown in some profiles, whereas detailed information is displayed in others. You may or may not be able to see images, events, or read posts depending on what the profile owner decides to share with the public. For their own safety, many Facebook users restrict access to this information to “Friends,” “Friends of Friends,” or a specific list of people. So even if you can see someone’s profile, you won’t have access to anything of value because they don’t have an account.

Pages

Facebook business, group, and celebrity pages are accessible to the general public by default, regardless of whether or not they have a Facebook account. If you’re an organization, business, or prominent figure you’re more likely to find yourself on one of these pages. Those who do not have an account can read posts made by page administrators as well as comments made by other users, but they cannot post themselves.

Groups

Without an account, groups are the smallest of Facebook’s entities. If you try to access a Facebook group’s URL without first logging in, you will be redirected to a login page. There are three privacy settings for groups: public, closed, and secret, however even though a group is labeled “public,” only persons with a Facebook account can see the page. You must be a member of a group in order to access its content.

 

How Do Group Notifications Work?

It is possible to submit comments or links to a group’s page on Facebook just like you would on a friend’s wall. You may expect the same type of notification to appear in the Notification Pane on the right side of your Facebook Timeline when someone publishes to one of your friends’ walls.

Those of you who are still on the pre-Timeline version of Facebook’s Profile page will get a notification in your News Feed. Your Facebook email notification settings may determine whether or not you receive an email if someone publishes to the group while you are logged in.

In the event that a post or comment is made to a group page while you are not logged into Facebook, you will receive an email notification informing you of the post or comment.

Disabling Group Notifications via the News Feed

To mute or conceal notifications from certain friends, apps, or groups on Facebook’s Timeline, you may find it more difficult to utilize than the old profile page. You may still access the old News Feed page by clicking the “Facebook” logo symbol in the upper right corner of your Timeline page.

On the News Feed page, click the drop-down arrow to the right of the name of the Facebook group in the News Feed list, and then click “Unsubscribe from GroupName,” where GroupName is the Facebook Group whose notifications you want to disable. This will disable posts in your news feed from friends and groups. Your Timeline page will no longer be updated if you unsubscribe from a group notice on the News Feed.

Hiding Notifications from the Group Page

You may also hide or disable alerts for Group comments and posts on your Timeline straight from the Group profile page, which may be an easier option. You can open a pop-out window by clicking on the message in the notification pane above your Friends List. In the pop-out window, you’ll see a message from Facebook leading you to the Group’s home page.

There is a “Notifications” link at the top of the Group with a checkmark next to it. Group alerts will appear on your Timeline if they are active. Simply clicking the “Notifications” link brings up a drop-down menu with two options: “On” and “Off.” When you click “Off,” you will no longer get notifications from that group.

This means that from that moment onward, you must visit the Group page and check postings to keep up with the group. In order to confirm that alerts from the group have been turned off, look for a small circle with a line through it. However, you will still receive email notifications even if you turn off notifications in your Timeline.

Blocking Notification Emails

Regardless of your other Facebook email notification settings, you can block notifications for a single group from reaching your inbox by going to the group’s main page and turning the option off. “Settings” is at the bottom of the drop-down list when you click “Notifications” on a group page.

An “Edit your notifications” link will appear in a pop-up window. Click the “Groups” link in the All Notifications portion of the new page that displays in your browser, and then click the “All Notifications” link again. “Change email settings for individual groups” can be found there. Even if you’re not logged into Facebook, you can use this link to stop receiving emails from the group.

 

Read More

  1. Does Facebook Messenger show active when you’re not?
  2. Facebook: The account that owns the email address you entered has been disabled
  3. How to change Facebook marketplace settings to local only?
  4. [SOLVED] Facebook messenger ‘Active Now’ but no green dot
  5. How to get Facebook app back on home screen?
  6. Why Can’t I See Who Liked My Posts on Facebook?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here